Madison Backgammon Club

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home 17 point Tournament

2019 Douse Cup

The 2019 Douse Cup Tournament has been drawn!

The Douse Cup is an invitation-only tournament. Qualification and seeding is based on participation in the previous year's club tournaments. It is at once a reward to players that participate and do well in our weekly tournaments and an excellent opportunity to develop skills for managing long matches.

Format: Double-elimination. All matches to 17-points. Seeding is based on prior year standings.

Good luck!

See the 2019 Douse Cup Bracket for pairings and results.


The 2018 Douse Cup is Complete

We managed to finish the 2018 tournament entirely within the 2018 calendar year. Some said it was not possible, while others agreed that it couldn't be done. Thank you to all the participants for keeping the tournament moving.

Bill Minser was the runner-up, besting nearly all who stood in his way. In fact, the only person he lost to was the 2018 champion! And that is...

Ilia Guzei! Congratulations to the 2018 Douse Cup tournament victor. Ilia managed to make it through without losing any matches at all on the way to his second Douse Cup championship!

Here is the complete 2018 Douse Cup Bracket. Thank you all for a successful 2018 tournament.


17 Point Tournament Hall of Fame

Year Winner Runner-up Consolation Winner
2018 Ilia Guzei Bill Minser N/A
2017 No Tournament N/A N/A
2016 Bill Minser Jack Edelson N/A
2015 Jack Edelson Beth Martinson N/A
2014 Alan Gold Steve Reuschlein N/A
2013 Vadim Nuniyants N/A N/A
2012 Alan Gold N/A N/A
2011 Keene Marin Lee Pflugrad Bruce Russell/Stan Livingston
2010 Steve Reuschlein Jacki Singleton Bill Minser
2009 Tom Machaj Brad Andersen Steve Reuschlein
2008 Beth Martinson Alan Gold Ilia Guzei
2007 Beth Martinson Alan Gold Tom Machaj
2006 Bill Minser N/A
2005 Keene Marin Charlie Walter Alan Gold
2004 Ilia Guzei Alan Gold Stan Livingston
2003 Bill Minser Ilia Guzei Brad Andersen
2001 Stan Livingston Tom Machaj Sam Pottle
2000 Sam Pottle Mark Tremayne Gary Hines
1999 Gary Hines Mark Tremayne Sam Pottle